Who We Are

The MISSION of Volunteers for Youth is to positively impact the lives of youth in Rogers County. We SERVE the most vulnerable in our county… youth without a safe place after school, high-risk youth and those who have committed their first offense, and youth experimenting with alcohol and prescription drugs… BECAUSE THEY’RE WORTH IT!

  • History

    In 1998 a group of community members including the Rogers County District Attorney, the Claremore Chief of Police, a local minister, an assistant public school superintendent, and a local businessman attended a statewide conference featuring General Colin Powell’s “America’s Promise”.  Inspired by General Powell, this core group formed the first Board of Directors for Rogers County Volunteers for Youth and obtained the required 501c3 non-profit status.  Their vision was to provide services for Rogers County youth in the areas of mentoring, safe and structured activities, healthy starts, skill building and service opportunities. Currently, Volunteers for Youth offers three youth-serving programs and the Drug Free Communities project.  Volunteers for Youth is supported by individual contributions, grants and fundraisers. Volunteers for Youth partners…

  • Staff

          Chris Butler has lived in Claremore most of his life and is a graduate of Claremore High School.  Chris has been married to his wife Jill since 1990 and they have two sons, Parker and Joshua.  An avid sports fan, Chris spent several years coaching various youth sports teams and enjoys camping and hiking while away from work.  After a 15+ year corporate management career and owning a local business for the past several years, Chris assumed the role of Executive Director for Volunteers for Youth in summer of 2015.  He is excited to be a part of such a great team that makes a difference in the lives of youth in Rogers County! Melynda (Mendy) Stone is…

  • Board of Directors

    Justin Greer, President Liz Cary, Vice President TJ Helling, Secretary/Treasurer    Todd Gourd Cindy Vanaman   Advisory Board Members:   Gene Haynes   Marna Favor Donna Bradley   Kari Forest   Myrtle Prather   Angie Graves   Don Hancock   Ken Seidel Wayne Webster Dee Riddles Leslie Cohen

  • Contact Us

    1700 S. Lynn Riggs Blvd.
    Claremore, OK 74017


RCVFY 990 1

RCVFY 990 2